Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (23)

Cosmopolis review

Posted : 4 years, 11 months ago on 25 December 2012 08:32 (A review of Cosmopolis)

Incredibly difficult for me to REALLY get an idea of how much I enjoyed the film. I feel that with another re-watch, my enjoyment would improve. One awesome end performance by Paul Giamatti. Really worth a watch this one!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford review

Posted : 5 years ago on 19 November 2012 07:00 (A review of The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford)

It's not often I say this about a film, but Jesse James is generally one of the greatest films I have seen in my entire life. Utterly blown away when I first watched it back in 2007. A film of extraordinary beauty intertwined with some astonishing acting. Must not forget the exquisiteness of the soundtrack by Nick Cave. Wow. Contains also one of my favourite performances by an actor, Casey Affleck. One of my all time favourite films.



0 comments, Reply to this entry

Take Shelter review

Posted : 5 years, 1 month ago on 28 October 2012 07:57 (A review of Take Shelter)

One of the very few films to blow me away. Utterly compelling and so so well made. Contains one of the most underrated performances of 2011. Stunning, absolutely stunning.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Iron Lady review

Posted : 5 years, 4 months ago on 11 August 2012 07:49 (A review of The Iron Lady)

Whilst I was engaged by Streep and Broadbent's performance, the film is horribly flawed. A lack of focus on a particular aspect of Thatcher's life makes for a disjointed mess of a film. Many key characters of Thatacher's administration are underused, such as Anthony Head. We seem to see an image of Thatacher that just didn't quite happen in that way. I might be in the minority here, but I would preferred Davis to have won the Oscar.

The more I think about this film...the more I get annoyed


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy review

Posted : 6 years, 3 months ago on 16 September 2011 07:27 (A review of Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy)

Incredibly well crafted, brilliantly suspensful thriller based on the book by John Le Carre. Containing many many fine performances; in particular the underated Gary Oldman, who no doubt will be Oscar nominated. Othe potentialr nominees I suspect could include; Colin Firth, John Hurt and possibly even Benedict Cumberbatch. Expertly directed and wonderfully put together and one of the rare selection of films which appreciates its audience. Highly recomended and a modern masterpiece of the 10's. No doubt will sweep the board in the 2012 BAFTAS and OSCARS. No doubt Alfredson has the Oscar in the bag! See it now.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

X-Men: First Class review

Posted : 6 years, 6 months ago on 1 June 2011 07:16 (A review of X-Men: First Class)

A briliantly made and incredibly well crafted prequel to a franchise which is highly underated. A fantastic performance from Michael Fassenbender and a great script. Another fantastic film from Matthew Vaughn. Look out from a great little performance from Nicholas Hoult.Highly recomended.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Dot the I review

Posted : 6 years, 6 months ago on 22 May 2011 01:51 (A review of Dot the I)

Starts off predictably, then gets interesting towards the end but only slightly interesting. Worth the worth for Gael Garcia Bernal..but that's about it.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Social Network review

Posted : 6 years, 6 months ago on 22 May 2011 01:50 (A review of The Social Network)

Just absolutely brilliant. Superbly directed by the man that is David Fincher, with a mix of life in 2003 and a wonderful exploration of how the most famous social network was created. The exploration of Zuckerberg's personality and how he isolated his friend Saverin along the way. The blend of music and various scenes are some of the strong parts of the film and incredibly engaging also. The script is for sure oscar nominated material, with the quick dialogue and sharp mocks from Zuckerberg,creates such a superb film indeed. Highly recommended!10/10


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Good Night, and Good Luck. review

Posted : 6 years, 7 months ago on 19 May 2011 10:42 (A review of Good Night, and Good Luck.)

A brilliant depiction of a controversial chapter of American history. Wonderful direction quick script and an excellent performance by David Strathairn. Contains tiny little flaws such as; parts of the plot are a little unclear-other than that well worth the watch.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Das Boot review

Posted : 6 years, 10 months ago on 9 February 2011 06:20 (A review of Das Boot)

First watched a few years ago whilst taking my A level in German. It's quite simply one of the greatest war films ever made and possible one of the greatest films ever made. Stunning cinematography,brilliantly directed and a great performance by Jurgen Pronchnow. Also kick started the career of Petersen in Hollywood. Easily a 5 star masterpiece.


0 comments, Reply to this entry


« Prev12 3 Next »

Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block